Home > Lewis Hamilton wins the last 2019 Grand Prix in Abu Dhabi


Retour à la liste des article

Lewis Hamilton wins the last 2019 Grand Prix in Abu Dhabi

Image couverture de l'article Lewis Hamilton wins the last 2019 Grand Prix in Abu Dhabi

Lewis Hamilton won his eleventh race of the 2019 season, dominating from start to finish in this final round of the year, ahead of Max Verstappen and Charles Leclerc. “I am very proud of this incredible team,” said Lewis Hamilton after the checkered flag. “We have continued to push and develop this car, which is a true piece of art. This collective strength has enabled us to win these new titles, thank you all! »

Pierre Gasly, who scored an exceptional podium finish in Brazil, saw his race compromised at the first corner after a collision with Lance Stroll. After one lap, he already had to go into the pits to change his front wing, which pushed him back to last place. After finishing the race in P18, the Frenchman said at the end of the Grand Prix : “We had a good pace, we had a good car and we had worked well. We see where Sainz ends, I did not have the opportunity to fight him, and we see where Daniil ends, which means there was enough pace to make a good result. We had a good advantage starting 11th, Daniil started two places behind us and finished ninth. I wasn’t following Alex too much, but especially Carlos, I wanted to finish in front of him. We had the opportunity to succeed and Lance just ruined everything. »

Romain Grosjean takes 15th place in this Grand Prix, another weekend “without” for the Frenchman: “There is no miracle, we have a capricious and complicated car”, Romain regrets. “On my side, we have to work on the starts, we have to understand why I lose places every time. We start side by side with Kev and in the first lap he is 10th and I am 17th. With the strategy, we tried to do the best we could, but it wouldn’t have changed much, when you take blue flags after blue flags it’s not easy. The season is over and I hope we will have fewer blue flags next year. It was the most difficult season, it’s a failed season with missed opportunities when they were there. In Australia, I lost big points because of the incident at the stand, in Spain we hit each other at the restart, it wasn’t necessary, and there were other missed opportunities.”

This last weekend of the season ends with mixed feelings for Renault F1 Team, as both cars raced in the top 10 for much of the race. “Today, we had to manage the race to secure our position in the championship and we did it. That being said, it was a frustrating race, we saw once again that the rules concerning the tires to be used at the start penalize the cars starting between P7 and P10. This was aggravated by the failure of the DRS in the first laps, forcing us to stay in the dirty car air that we should have passed without too much trouble. Nevertheless, we have experienced some good overtakes that unfortunately did not materialize in points, which is disappointing, especially for Nico. He has played a very important role in the team, in our progress. I really want to thank him, but also Daniel and the whole team at Enstone and Viry for their hard work during this difficult season. Let’s keep up the momentum to do better in 2020. »

Charles Leclerc finished his season with a third place finish, after being overtaken by Max Verstappen halfway into the race. Satisfied with his first season in red, he wants to come back stronger in 2020. “I learned a lot alongside a teammate as strong and experienced as Seb,” he said as he got out of the car. “It was a great season because I realized an old dream. When I was a child, I used to of wearing the colours of the Scuderia Ferrari in Formula 1. It is now up to me to improve by building on what I learned in 2019. I must offer all the Ferrari staff the glory and success they so richly deserve. »

FIA Formula 1 Drivers World Championship Standings

1 Lewis Hamilton 413 (Champion du Monde)

2 Valtteri Bottas 326

3 Max Verstappen 278

4 Charles Leclerc 264

5 Sebastian Vettel 240

6 Carlos Sainz Jr. 96

7 Pierre Gasly 95

8 Alexander Albon 92

9 Daniel Ricciardo 54

10 Sergio Pérez 52

11 Lando Norris 49

12 Kimi Raikkonen 43

13 Daniil Kvyat  37

14 Nico Hulkenberg 37

15 Lance Stroll   21

16 Kevin Magnussen 20

17 Antonio Giovinazzi 14

18 Romain Grosjean 8

19 Robert Kubica 1

20 George Russell 0

À lire également
Register and receive all the Grand Prix information
Notre site utilise des cookies. Avec votre consentement, nous les utiliserons pour mesurer et analyser son utilisation (cookies analytiques), pour l'adapter à vos intérêts (cookies de personnalisation) et pour vous présenter des publicités et des informations pertinentes (cookies de ciblage).